N.T. Narbutovskih

Future/Present/Past

The Future Is What We Make It

The box was large, cubic… Erick saw the glowing panel, symbols in green and gold flowing upward across its face. “Bryn”, he thought. “Damnit.” He recognized what those patterns meant, what must be inside…

Available for a limited time for only $0.99

Erick is Executor of the Geneline Ollson; protector of trillions of the Empress’s subjects. He has ruled for three centuries prepares his daughter to take his place—but that may happen sooner than he hoped. The target of a looming civil war, he must find a way to avert the bloodshed. But in his search, he uncovers a dark secret that makes him question the nature of his beliefs.

Bryn is next in line for the Ollson seat. She is fiercely loyal to her father, and to her family. So when she and Erick are accused of treason and attacked by former allies, she glories in saving them. But her fight is just begun, for soon the Obershire ships will appear in her skies. And she must be ready for war.

Bjorn Hafthor is the commander of the Second Company. He has seen combat from peacekeeping to planetary defense. His troops are second only to the Black Guard. But nothing could prepare him for the strangeness they find in a station under siege.

Narbutovskih has written a compelling vision of the future, grounded in the struggles that define us all. Steel in the Blood is a sweeping exploration of myth and mankind, in the tradition of Dune and The Expanse.

The story continues in Iron on the Tongue

Praise for Steel in the Blood

“In this sweeping debut novel, Narbutovskih tells a story of futuristic political intrigue set in a richly-imagined universe. The expansive setting, compelling characters, and fast-moving plot make for a great read and promise much more to come. One senses Narbutovskih is just getting warmed up; this is an author and series to watch.” – Mark D. Jacobsen, author, The Lords of Harambee

“Narbutovskih writes like someone who knows the truth about war. The tight narrative combines with an instinctive understanding of characters under the pressure of combat, and the consequences of violence. Steel in the Blood is a compelling and absorbing story from a new author who deserves our attention.” Andrew Chamberlain, award-winning author and host of The Creative Writers Toolbelt

“In the vein of Herbert and Lucas, Narbutovskih artfully weaves together fantasy and science fiction to create a universe more than the sum of its parts: magical, vast, but intimately personal.” -Eric V. Muirhead, Historian and Podcaster

“…I loved this. I would read the everloving crap out of a series set in this universe. It is vibrant, it has a deep sense of history to it, some mysteries, and some absolutely cool tech.” Dr. Nicholas Evans, Associate Professor of Bio and Military Ethics, founder of Rogue Bioethics

“…blends Norse myth and high-octane futurism into …pure narrative. …masterfully conjures visions of haunting legends… A new epic for our era.” -Anthony Tang

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

Welcome to the Fantastic Worlds of Author N.T. Narbutovskih

I write stories, mostly science fiction. I sometimes write about stories, why they matter, and to whom they matter. I believe that science fiction can show us what it will be like to live in the future, and more importantly, what the consequences of our actions might be.

%d bloggers like this: